A massive triangular laterite fort, replete with a moat and flanking bastions, the St. Angelo's Fort also called Kannur Fort was constructed by the first Portuguese Viceroy, Don Francesco de Almeida in 1505.
In 1663, the Dutch captured the fort from the Portuguese and sold it to Ali Raja of Kannur. In 1790 the British who seized control over the fort, renovated and equipped it to be their most important military station in Malabar.
St. Angelo's Fort is a protected monument under the Archaeological Survey of India now. The fort offers a fascinating view of the Moppila Bay and Dharmadom Island which is a 5 acre area situated 100 metres away from the mainland in the Arabian Sea. A sea wall projecting from the fort separates the rough sea and inland water. Today, the bay has turned into a modern fishing harbour, developed under the Indo-Norwegian Pact.
The fort offers fascinating view of a natural fishing bay and a sea wall projecting from the fort separating the rough sea and inland water.
St.Angelo or Kannur fort
Well maintained park inside the fort
A cannon viewing Arabian sea
The stairway leads to the top of the fort wall
Inside view of army barracks
The Chapel inside the fort
Fascinating view of Arabian sea from the fort wall